Happy Mother’s Day!


jkklglh

Image via Wikipedia

In the United States, we celebrate Mother’s Day on the second Sunday in May.  It’s a day when mothers get lavished with presents and attention.  Families get together to honor their generations of moms.

I’m very excited about spending time with my children and family this Mother’s Day, May 8, 2011, not to do anything fancy, but just to enjoy the time with my children and family.  Watching them play and laugh is spiritual to me.  I’m honored that God chose me to carry out a very important mission called motherhood.  It’s not easy at all, though, but it’s worth it.

I’m very anxious and saddened too this year.  This will be my first Mother’s Day without my mother, Joyce Thurman, who died on July 19, 2010 and received her wings in Heaven.  She was a great mother and she loved children!  I miss her, but I know she’s watching over us every moment.  That gives me joy.

Anyway, I wanted to start this post to honor all the moms out there.  We do so much as mothers and expect so little.  We’re doctors, preachers, counselors, tutors, judges, chauffeurs, chefs, friends, teachers, stylists, cheerleaders, maids, and the list goes on.  We do what we do each day, knowing that the reward is unconditional love and raising intelligent, honorable, and God-fearing young men and women.

Moving on…  I would like to talk about who originated the idea of Mother’s Day in the United States.   It was Anna Jarvis, who loved her mother, Mrs. Ann Maria Reeves Jarvis, very much.  Ann Maria devoted much of her life as a humanitarian to improve sanitary and health conditions to so many people over several states.  However, Ann died in 1905 when Anna was only 41 years old.  Anna adored her mother’s mission and life’s work.

After her mother’s death, Anna never married, and ended up caring for her blind sister, Ellsinore.  She missed her mother terribly and thought that more people should honor their mothers while they’re still alive.  Anna wanted a day devoted to mothers to increase respect, love, and strengthen family bonds.  Isn’t that wonderful how she revered her mother and mothers everywhere?  If more people were that kind and caring as this family, the world would be a much better place.

Mothers  (fathers too) are very special people.  As a mother of three lovely, charismatic children (Lorin, Logan, and Jonathan), I changed greatly as a person.  I saw life through a different filter.  I also gained a greater respect for my belated mother (way before she died) and the impact that she had on my life and the lives of so many others.  She was a great educator in Maryland and North Carolina and impacted the lives of so many children.  Personally, I was a piece of work as a child.  I remember calling my mom several times during adulthood, begging for her forgiveness for some of my childhood days.  (It’s true!)  Anyway, may God bless and watch over all the mothers out there and continue to give us the wisdom that we need to rear our children, run our households, and respect our husbands.  Amen.  Happy Mother’s Day!

About Kecia Thurman Bland

Kecia Bland is a professional full-time licensed NC Real Estate Broker (since 2008) focused on providing excellent customer service and expertise for those interested in buying and selling real estate in the Greater Raleighs areas- the Triangle area, and surrounding counties- Wake, Durham, Johnston, Chatham, Franklin, and Granville. Kecia provides her clients with a pleasurable and smart real estate experience. View all posts by Kecia Thurman Bland

7 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

