Tornadoes in the Carolinas


image

image

image

For the past couple weeks, we’ve been dealing with devastating tornadoes and strong storms.  Our state is no stranger to hurricanes; however, these tornadoes,  in my opinion, are by far nail biters to say the very least!

Living in the coastal region of the state half of my life, I’ve road out some terrible, destructive hurricanes, which I always thought was the end of the world (as a child).

I must say, however, with these storm and tornado outbreaks lately, I have been pretty shaken by them. I’m sure my friends and neighbors are as well.  My household didn’t get very much sleep last evening.  Stress and anxiety levels were high.

It broke my heart this morning to see my middle child’s fear and anxiety.  She definitely displayed physical symptoms of distress.   Even though I had my own on the inside,  I encouraged her that all would be okay because we prayed and we are strong.

Certainly protect yourselves and your homes from the threat of violent weather.  Get into an interior room or closet with pillows and blankets (mattresses, if possible).  If you have a basement, that’s the very best place to be.

Please, please, as you go through these passing storms, take time out to pray and please check on the children‘s needs first.  You can always rebuild, if it comes to that, but as a parent, my children’s emotional state is far more important.

Through it all, North Carolina is an awesome place to live. No matter where you are, there’s always going to be natural disasters. Take care of your families and self.  I’ve talked to people all over since the terrible tornadoes we had a couple weekends ago, and stress levels are very high.

I wish everyone comfort and peace and restful nights. Thanks for reading my thoughts.

About Kecia Thurman Bland

Kecia Bland is a professional full-time licensed NC Real Estate Broker (since 2008) focused on providing excellent customer service and expertise for those interested in buying and selling real estate in the Greater Raleighs areas- the Triangle area, and surrounding counties- Wake, Durham, Johnston, Chatham, Franklin, and Granville. Kecia provides her clients with a pleasurable and smart real estate experience. View all posts by Kecia Thurman Bland

Leave a Reply

